TDN World Desk: In a major decision, India on Wednesday suspended all existing visas, except except diplomatic, official, UN/International Organizations, employment, project visas, till April 15.

On March 11, Ministry of Health and family Welfare made this announcement after the sixth meeting of the high level group of ministries.

After the meeting, which held at Nirman Bhawan,the group of ministers took a 8-point decision to prevent the pandemic coronavirus.

Visa free travel facility granted to Overseas Citizenship of India card holders is kept in abeyance till April 15th 2020. “This will come into effect from 1200 GMT on 13th March 2020 at the port of departure,” the ministry stated.

Any foreign national who intends to travel to India for compelling reason may contact the nearest Indian Mission.

All incoming travellers, including Indian nationals, arriving from or having visited China, Italy, Iran,Republic of Korea, France, Spain and Germany after 15th February, 2020 shall be quarantined for a
minimum period of 14 days. This will come into effect from 1200 GMT on 13th March 2020 at the port
of departure.

Incoming travellers, including Indian nationals, are advised to avoid non-essential travel and are informed that they can be quarantined for a minimum of 14 days on their arrival in India.

“Indian nationals are strongly advised to avoid all non-essential travel abroad. On their return, they can be subjected to quarantine for a minimum of 14 days”, the press release stated.

International traffic through land borders will be restricted to Designated check posts with robust screening facilities. These will be notified separately by M/o Home Affairs.

Provision for testing primarily for students/compassionate cases in Italy to be made and collection for samples to be organized accordingly. Those tested negative will be allowed to travel and will be quarantined on arrival in India for 14 days.

Till now over 60 confirmed cases of Coronavirus discovered in India. Many of the countries have already suspended schools nation-wide following the example of Italy. United States also announced to suspend most travel from Europe to US for 30 days.