TDN World Desk: Citing reason that Citizenship Amendment Bill (CAB) would affect their indigenous identity 12 MPs in northeast wrote to Prime Minister narendra Modi to exclude the region from CAB.

The 12 MPs includes Congress MPs from Assam Gaurav Gogoi, Pradyut Bordoloi and Abdul Khaleque. They expressed apprehension that the Bill may lead to eventual displacement of the indigenous and tribal residents living in the concerned region.

The parliamentary members also said that the NGOs in the region shared similar concern.

“All premier NGOs of the region are also of the same opinion. We collectively believe if such a bill implemented uniformly across the nation, it will particularly render the indigenous and tribal population of the northeast vulnerable to displacement. Therefore we urge you to include within this bill a provision which exempts from its ambit the residents of the north-eastern states of Arunachal, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Sikkim,” said the letter signed by 12 MPs.

Union Home minister Amit Shah will hold discussion with the chief ministers of north-eastern states and civil society representatives over the next few days to hear their concerns regarding CAB.

earlier in November, Home Minister Amit Shah announced that a nationwide NRC will be conducted. He assured the Hindu,Sikh, Christian communities that they need to bother as the Rajya Sabha will be introducing CAB to include all the immigrants coming from neighbouring countries except the Muslims.