Image: Getty Images

TDN World Desk: Allegations have been made against Awami League for not conducting fair and free election in Bangladesh. Candidates from the opposition parties have rejected and boycotted polls citing various foul plays. However, it doesn’t deter the vote counting process. Saikh Hasina wins a landslide victory from Gopalganj-3 constituency. 

Election Commission Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed made the official announcement at the EC office in Dhaka’s Agargaon in the evening. 

She bags 229,539 votes while her main contender, SM Jilani from Jatiya party gets 129 votes. That means in this constituency Awami League gets 98.7 percent votes while Jatiya Party gets only 1.3 percent votes. 

Significantly, in the same district, from Gopalganj-2 constituency another Awami League leader Sheikh Fazlul Karim also won in huge margin. He bagged 2,81,909 votes while his nearest rival Taslim Shikdar from Islamic Andolon bagged 608 and BNP candidate Sirajul Islam got 286 votes from the constituency. 

Overall polls result also reflects this kind of one-sided scenario. The ballot result in maximum seats out of 300 total seats literally remained unopposed as Awami League got votes of a lion’s share in comparison with its nearest candidates. Awami League candidate Shamsul Hoque Chowdhury bags 1.83,179 votes while his main opponent,  Md.Enamul Hoque, a BNP candidate gets only 44 votes. 

In Madaripur-1 constituency Awami League (AL) candidate Nur-E-Alam Chowdhury bag s 2,27,454 votes while his nearest contender gets 305 votes. 

As per the last official report, Awami League led grand alliance won 281 parliamentary seats while main opposition BNP-led alliance stopped at 6 and others candidate managed to get 7 parliamentary seats. 

This general election is running under the administration of sitting Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina. The opposition parties brought allegation of poll violence, rigging, polls station capturing. 57 candidates boycotted election. They include 49 aspirants of Jatiya Oikya Front and BNP-led-20 party alliance. On Sunday, Jatiya Oikya Front demanded the Election Commission immediately scrap the “farcical election” and hold a fresh one under a nonpartisan interim government. 

Zonayed Sakif, chief coordinator of Ganosamhati Andolon, also boycotted this day’s election demanding formation of a new Election Commissioner under a neutral government. 

Till now 18 persons were killed in polls related violence. Even journalists were attacked to bar flashing of information’s during election. Reporters Without Border (RSF), a Paris based organization earlier on Dec.28 issued  a statement in this regard condemning Bangladesh government fort its brutal treatments with journalists and for its violent suppressive  attitudes i.e. internet censorship and for its decision reduce data speed to the ‘2G’ level for 30 to 31 December.